Toogoodoo Bluff’s site sits on a high bluff overlooking the deep Toogoodoo Creek and wide marshes. As for the structures, all three have different backgrounds. The farmhouse dates back to the mid to late 1700’s, and includes a unique architectural feature of a rain porch with extended roof. The house was disassembled in the mid 1990’s and numbered board by board and then reconstructed on the current site. It was not finished until 2006. The log cabin dates back to the early 1800’s. It was located in the low mountains of Spartanburg County in SC near the border of NC. It was also disassembled and reconstructed on the current site. The reconstruction included the addition of a kitchen, bathroom and front porch. The cottage also dates back to the early 1800’s. It was originally a kitchen house located in Summerville, SC. In the late 1800’s it was converted to a sharecropper’s house and then in 1926, it was deeded to the Girl Scouts in Summerville. The Deed required that it not be torn down. Summerville grew from around 1,000 people to near 50,000 and the Girl Scouts outgrew the facility. It was put on a truck and moved to Toogoodoo Bluff in the mid-1990’s. The small barn was built in the late 1990’s and the frame is constructed from timbers salvaged from a wooden bridge that connected Edisto Island to Bailey Island.
Updated on September 27, 2021 at 11:22 am