Like a London townhouse – the historic Beard Morgan House sits prominently on the main street of the historic Village of Fayetteville, NY. One of the earliest in the area, the house was built on a long swath of land, lined by trees to the southwest, and extending from street to street – affording enviable back-yard privacy. The prime in town location means a short walk to a vibrant array of restaurants, coffee shops, and stores, as well as Erie Canal hiking, biking and fishing.
The original ‘The Beard-Morgan House’, was built in 1830 by Adna Treat, one of Fayetteville’s earliest mill owners. The house was purchased by Beach Beard in 1854 for his son, a paper mill owner and village President for two terms. Under Henry L. Beard’s oversight, the size of the house tripled. He added another parlor, two more bedrooms and servant’s quarters. The stately manor currently boasts 12 rooms, 7 bedrooms and 4 full baths. The house remained in the Beard family until 1988.
A spectacular example of Italianate architecture, the house blends history with contemporary comfort. The original family spared no expense in lavishing abundant architectural detailing, wide plank flooring, high ceilings, large rooms, beautiful light fixtures, brass window locks, and curved walls in four of the major rooms.” Exterior and interior walls are unusually wide, blocking sound between the rooms, and the home’s stone foundation on the west side is FOUR FEET THICK. (Buckingham Palace sits smoking nervously in the corner.)
The current owners, world class artists and designers, Victoria Bingham and Andre Kouznetsov, have embellished houses owned by Tom Sullivan, Alfred Lord and Pasqueline Steiner. They have painstakingly restored and enhanced their own property, leaving no stone unturned, no old appliance left behind – no unique idea unsatisfied. Artists at the height of their profession, the pair poured heart and soul into the home, intending to make it what it ultimately became – totally one of a kind.
Updated on May 28, 2023 at 10:35 pm