The famed ‘1720 House’ has been welcoming guests to Vineyard Haven and Martha’s Vineyard as a private residence/B&B for generations. Built in 1720, it is the oldest home in Vineyard Haven, and was previously known as the Timothy Chase House when moved to Vineyard Haven harbor from West Tisbury (1800s). The property extends from Main Street to William Street; on the National Register of Historic Places, is part of the William Street Historic District. Beautifully sited to take advantage of the morning and afternoon sun, nicely set back from the road behind a graceful circular driveway, (it is a living testimony to the island’s rich history. A comfortably sized lot offers privacy, a garage, shed all within a short distance of shops, MV Playhouse, VH Library and ferry. Close by are Owen Park, town dock/harbor/ beach. The character of the architecture remains intact along with its 2 brick chimneys. wide, colonial-era-style floorboards, gunstock posts, beamed ceilings, lattice windows showcase its historic pedigree, warm atmosphere. A majestic copper beach, which beckoned mariners in bygone days, still stands, providing a stately welcome to the new Owner who finds safe harbor here.
Updated on June 22, 2022 at 10:33 pm