Built in 1874 by renowned architects Peabody and Stearns, and lovingly maintained by the same family since 1944, this handsome five story brick and brownstone building, located in the heart of the Back Bay, is close to the Boston Public Garden, Charles River Esplanade, Newbury Street shops, restaurants and so much more. This American Academic style home with beautiful French-influenced interiors is currently configured as a five unit owner-occupied building consisting of a three bedroom owner’s duplex; a two bedroom one bath floor-through unit with a large partially covered deck; a three bedroom one and a half bath floor-through; a one bedroom rear triplex; a front facing studio and an office in the rear on the garden level; parking and a courtyard/garden in the back. The owner’s duplex features 12-foot ceilings, stately fireplaces, and a grand living room with French “Fêtes de Louis XIII” hand-blocked wallpaper manufactured by Clerc & Margueridon, Paris. This 25-foot wide building has ten bedrooms, six full bathrooms, two half bathrooms, and nine fireplaces. A passenger elevator services all five floors. Future configuration options include returning to a single family with multiple parking spaces and au pair suite or rental apartment in the back. This building is truly unique and offers a rare opportunity for the new owner to restore, update and create their dream home.
Updated on January 4, 2023 at 10:20 pm